Special Admit (formerly CAP)
High School Students Special Admit Registration (formerly CAP) is registering for a college class. This is a limited program geared toward educational enrichment not remediation.
- Student must obtain signatures of parent and school principal.
- Student must obtain college approval from the Division Dean or designee. Final approval rests with Santa Ana College. Refer to
www.sac.edu to locate the appropriate
Division and Dean’s contact information.
- Students who plan to take English or Math courses need to meet with a Counselor to review high school transcripts for appropriate course recommendation. For additional information and to find out about drop-in counseling services, contact the Assessment Center at (714) 564-6148.
Students currently enrolled in grades K-8 are required to pay all college fees. The Enrollment Fee will be waived for students currently enrolled in grades 9-12 who are enrolled in 15 units or less for fall or spring semesters. If the student enrolls in 15.1 units or more during fall and spring semesters, the student will be charged the current enrollment fee for all units. Further, during summer sessions, Enrollment Fee will be waived for students enrolled in 9 units or less. If the student enrolls in 9.1 units or more, the student will be charged for all units enrolled. For intersession, Enrollment Fee will be waived for students enrolled in 6 units or less. If the student enrolls in 6.1 units or more, the student will be charged for all units enrolled.
- RSCCD shall charge a tuition fee to nonresident students who hold an F1 or F2 visa. F1/F2 students are not exempt.
- The parent’s signature grants permission for their son/daughter to enroll in college courses at Santa Ana College. The parent acknowledges that Santa Ana College is an adult environment and assumes responsibility for their young student’s conduct while on campus. In compliance with federal privacy law, the parent will need their student’s written permission to gain access to any non-directory information. Additionally, if you are under 18 years of age, state law requires us to contact your parents for most treatment at Student Health Services (see exceptions listed below). In California, according to the law, a person becomes an adult at age 18 years old. Under age 18, parents have the right to make most health care decisions. This includes the right to consent to health care. Because of this law, there are times when it will be necessary to speak with a parent or guardian as part of being seen here at Student Health Services. There are some situations when a person under 18 can get health care without parental consent. These situations are defined by California and federal laws. The following services do not require parental consent: (a)Family Planning; (b)Sexually transmitted diseases;(c)Mental Health Treatment and Counseling;(d)Pregnancy;(e)Drug and Alcohol related problems;(f)HIV/AIDs;(g)Sexual Assault Treatment;(h)Abortion’(i) Situations involving public health reportable infectious disease care; and(j)Suspected Child Abuse Victims. Some people under 18 have a special status in California, which allows them to seek care on their own. These include emancipated minors and minors living with complete financial independence separate and apart from their parents. Unless your situation is listed above, we will need to contact your parents. While one of our nurses will make the official required call to your parents for a verbal consent to treat, it is helpful if you give your parents a call to let them know that we will be contacting them. If you are concerned about reaching your parents, please speak with one of our nurses.
- Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 and certain other federal and state laws prohibit discrimination or harassment on the basis of gender or sex in education programs and activities operated by RSCCD. The protection against discrimination on the basis of gender includes sexual harassment, sexual misconduct, intimate partner violence, and stalking. Please contact the District Administrator for Title IX if you have any questions about school policies or wish to file a report (www.rsccd.edu/incidentreportingform). To learn more about Title IX, please visit www.rsccd.edu/titleix.
Special Admit students will be receiving college credit for this class whether or not the units are used toward high school graduation. This means a college transcript is generated listing the class or classes and the grades earned. This establishes a permanent record with the college. Grades recorded for these classes are permanent and create a college transcript. The transcript information is confidential and is only accessible by the student. All college information is confidential and not accessible to parents or guardians.
Special Admit students are required to attend class until the end of the semester unless the student decides to drop the class online prior to the deadline identified in the schedule of classes. The drop deadline is set when 75% of the course has been completed. The student will receive a “W” when the student drops after the first two weeks of a full semester or after the first week of the summer session. Please read class section details listed in Web Advisor (Online Records) for important refund and drop deadlines.
Special Admit students must attend all classes. Material covered in college courses is at a faster pace than high school classes. Expect to spend twice as much time outside of class as in class completing assignments and homework.
Santa Ana College maintains open campuses. Students function under Standards of Student Conduct (Board Policy 5201), and there is an expectation that adult behavior will be displayed by students on campus. Academic honesty is a requirement, and sanctions are identified in course overviews, which are distributed by faculty on the first day of class. Students are responsible for their own transportation and materials on campus.
Special Admit students by law do not have priority registration. Under the California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 58108 “a district may establish a priority registration system which would accord adult students higher registration priority.’