sac.edu/academicsenate

academicsenate@sac.edu

714-564-6831

Resolution S2024.09

Creation of the Academic Senate Awards for Excellence Committee

Moved: Gabe Shweiri

Seconded: Darren Hostetter

Whereas, Santa Ana College is committed to recognizing and celebrating the outstanding contributions and achievements of its faculty members,

Whereas, Acknowledging faculty excellence enhances morale, motivation, and a culture of continuous improvement within the college community,

Whereas, The establishment of an Academic Senate Awards for Excellence committee will formalize the process of identifying and honoring faculty members who exemplify excellence in their respective fields,

Whereas, A committee structure chaired by the Academic Senate Vice President of Community Operations with two distinct sub-committees will allow for a comprehensive recognition of faculty accomplishments: the **Distinguished Faculty Award sub-committee**, composed of prior award winners (up to 6), will play a pivotal role in identifying and honoring the new Distinguished Faculty for each year; the **Profiles of Excellence sub-committee**, composed of Senators or their designee (up to 6), will encompass a range of awards including the Adjunct Faculty Award, Creative Expression Award, Career & Technical Education Award, Innovation Award, Professional Achievement Award and any new awards that may be established,

Resolved, That the Academic Senate of Santa Ana College hereby establishes the Academic Senate Awards for Excellence committee with two sub-groups as outlined above,

Resolved, That the Academic Senate Awards for Excellence committee shall annually review nominations from the college community and recommend winners based on a rubric aligned with the awards criteria advertised on the college's website,

Resolved, that the Academic Senate Awards for Excellence committee shall play a crucial role in recognizing and celebrating the impact and excellence of Santa Ana College faculty members.

Date Presented: May 14, 2024 Date Passed: May 14, 2024