

Board of Directors Meeting

Tuesday, April 30, 2019 7:30 a.m.

Santa Ana College 1530 W. 17th St. Santa Ana, CA 92706

MINUTES

The Santa Ana College Foundation Board of Directors meeting was held on Tuesday, April 30, 2019 at Santa Ana College. Rossina Gallegos called the meeting to order at 7:34 a.m. Ed Arnold, Lewis Bratcher, Alberta Christy, Kristin Crellin, Rossina Gallegos, Madeline Grant, Ed Halverson, Jena Jensen, Ramiro Ochoa, Ken Purcell, Fortino Rivera, Christina Romero and Rick Turner were in attendance. Eve Kornyei Ruffatto, Mark McLoughlin, Ignacio Muniz, Jayne Munoz, Clayton Rivest, Dr. Linda Rose, and David Valentin were unable to attend.

Guests in attendance: Santa Ana College Vice Presidents Dr. Bart Hoffman, Dr. Vaniethia Hubbard and Dr. Jeffrey Lamb as well as staff members Nandini Puri, Jennifer Valencia and Jessica Hamman.

Program Presentation

Fernando Ortiz, Dean of Academic Affairs, gave a presentation on Guided Pathways.

Consent Calendar

Rossina Gallegos presented the minutes from the January 29, 2019 meeting for approval.

Alberta Christy moved, Ken Purcell seconded, all in favor, the motion carried. Ed Arnold abstained due to absence from meeting.

Jena Jensen joined the meeting.

Rossina Gallegos presented for approval the slate of officers for one-year term beginning July 1, 2019 as follows:

President: Rossina Gallegos
Vice President: To be announced
Secretary: Eve Kornyei Ruffatto

Treasurer: Ed Halverson Chairman/Past President: Ken Purcell

Ed Arnold moved, Fortino Rivera seconded, all in favor, the motion carried.

Rossina Gallegos presented for approval the extension of board of directors' membership terms as follows:

Madeline Grant: 2nd (3-year) term January 2016 – January 2019 to 3rd (3-year) term January 2019 – January 2022

Ed Halverson: 4th (3-year) term June 2016 - June 2019 – *Board Exception Approved April* 19, 2011 (Bylaws Art V, Sec 4) to 5th (3-year) term June 2019 - June 2022

Eve Kornyei Ruffatto: 1st (3-year) term June 2016 – June 2019 to 2nd (3-year) term June

2019 – June 2022

Clayton Rivest: 1st (3-year) term September 2015 – September 2018 to 2nd (3-year) term

September 2018 – September 2021

Rick Turner: 1st (3-year) term January 2016 – January 2019 to 2nd (3-year) term January

2019 – January 2022

David Valentin: 2nd (3-year) term January 2016 – January 2019 to 3rd (3-year) term January

2019 – January 2022

Alberta Christy moved, Ed Arnold seconded, all in favor, the motion carried.

Rossina Gallegos presented for approval the Finance Committee members for a one-year term beginning July 1, 2019 as follows:

Ed Halverson, Treasurer (Chair)

Alberta Christy

Kristin Crellin

Rossina Gallegos

Eve Kornyei Ruffatto

Ken Purcell

Clayton Rivest

Christina Romero

Dr. Linda Rose

Rick Turner

Alberta Christy moved, Ed Arnold seconded, all in favor, the motion carried.

Rossina Gallegos and Christina Romero proposed a revision to the Foundation Bylaws changing the officers' term from one (1) year to two (2) years (*Article VII, Section 2. Election and Terms of Office*).

Ed Arnold moved, Kristin Crellin seconded, all in favor, the motion carried.

Program Presentation

Phil Marquez, Art Gallery Director, shared the upcoming student art show on May 10th and thanked the Board for their support of the student awards and opening reception. Students Edgar Rodriguez and Candice Collins shared samples of their work and their educational goals.

Public Comments

No members of the public were present.

Treasurer's Report

Ed Halverson presented the financial statements ending March 31, 2019, the unrestricted operating budget ending March 31, 2019, and the proposed operating budget for 2019-2020. Christina Romero reviewed the fiscal highlights/executive summary for the third quarter. Ken Purcell gave kudos to all the effort and growth related to President's Circle and the Ed Arnold Golf Classic. Ed Halverson reviewed the proposed revisions to the investment policy related to the investment guidelines (10.a. Unrestricted Fund Group on page 7), asset allocation guidelines and benchmarks (page 10).

Ed Halverson motioned for the approval of the treasurer's report as presented.

Fortino Rivera moved, Ed Arnold seconded, all in favor, the motion carried.

College President's Report

Dr. Bart Hoffman shared information and gave an impact report for the college in regards to the state's Student Centered Funding Formula. Dr. Hoffman shared expected completion dates as follows: Science Center - Summer 2020, Johnson Center - 2021 as well as Russell Hall replacement slated for 2022.

Rick Turner excused himself from the meeting.

Foundation President's Report

Rossina Gallegos introduced student Leslie Sanchez, who shared her story.

Rossina Gallegos asked for participation on a Board Recruitment Committee, which will seek new board representatives. Rossina shared that the President's Circle goal for next year will be \$120,000 and asked for 100% board participation. The fall event has been tentatively scheduled for September 26th.

Christina Romero introduced Darren Hostetter, who gave a presentation on the Plaza de Artes/Amphitheatre initiatives. Darren reviewed the mural, classroom/performance/event spaces, and shading ideas and how these improvements will increase student engagement. Jena Jensen noted that the impact on student health is an important perspective to share with donors as well. Ed Arnold questioned the length of time for the project. Dr. Hoffman answered that once campaign funding is secured, the process will probably take a year and a half for actual implementation/construction.

Executive Director's Report

Committee Reports

Athletic Hall of Fame/Ed Arnold Golf Classic

Ken Purcell shared that the 2019 Ed Arnold Golf Classic has over \$55,000 in sponsors and 119 golfers, and is scheduled for Monday, May 6th.

Faculty/Board Engagement Presentation

Madeline Grant gave a presentation on the initiatives/ideas to engage our board with and for our faculty. Madeline shared the ideas of Faculty Honoraria at the Awards for Excellence, Speaker's Bureau, Professional Clothing Closet, Mentorship Program, and SAC Hidden Gems.

Scholarship Program Update

Nandini Puri shared the outcomes of this year's scholarship competition, awarded over 220 students at a minimum of \$500 up to \$10,000 for transferring students. She shared that eight Foundation board members participated for the first time in the scholarship selection process. Fortino Rivera and Ken Purcell shared about their experience with this year's selection.

Closed Session

Rossina Gallegos noted no pending items, so closed session was not necessary.

Special Guests/Acknowledgements

Christina Romero introduced and recognized Al & Carol Preusch, a new scholarship donor funding transfer awards for three students at \$5,000 each. Student scholarship recipient Abby Mendez-Ortiz shared the impact that the scholarship will have on her life.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 9:36 a.m.