

Board of Directors Meeting Tuesday, April 25, 2017 7:30 a.m.

Santa Ana College SAC Foundation Board Room 1530 W. 17th St. Santa Ana, CA 92706

MINUTES

The Santa Ana College Foundation Board of Directors meeting was held on Tuesday, April 25, 2017 at Santa Ana College. Ken Purcell called the meeting to order at 7:37 a.m. Ed Arnold, Alberta Christy, Rossina Gallegos, Ed Halverson, Dr. Sara Lundquist, Mark McLoughlin, Ignacio Muniz, Jayne Munoz, Ken Purcell, Emily Randle, Fortino Rivera, Clayton Rivest, Christina Romero, Dr. Linda Rose, and David Valentin were in attendance. Lewis Bratcher, Kristin Crellin, Madeline Grant, Eve Kornyei Ruffatto and Rick Turner were unable to attend.

Ken Purcell introduced our newest board member, Mark McLoughlin.

Christina Romero recognized Ed Arnold, Kristin Crellin and Ken Purcell for their recent community awards and honors received.

Consent Calendar

Ken Purcell presented the minutes from the January 31, 2017 meeting for approval. Ed Arnold moved, Alberta Christy seconded, all in favor, the motion carried.

Christins Romero presented for the approval of the proposed slate of officers for a one-year term beginning July 1, 2017 as follows:

President:	Ken Purcell
Vice President:	Pending
Secretary:	Rossina Gallegos
Treasurer:	Ed Halverson
Chairman/Past President:	Kristin Crellin

Christina Romero presented for the approval of the 3-year term extensions for the following board members as follows:

Lewis Bratcher: 2nd (3-year) term April 2017 – April 2020

Alberta Christy: 6th (3-year) term June 2017 - June 2020 Board Exception Approved April 19, 2011 (Bylaws Art V, Sec 4)

Kristin Crellin: 4th (3-year) term June 2017 - June 2020 *Board Exception Approved April 19, 2011* (*Bylaws Art V, Sec 4*)

Ignacio Muniz: 6th (3-year) term June 2017 - June 2020 *Board Exception Approved April 19, 2011* (*Bylaws Art V, Sec 4*)

Ken Purcell: 6th (3-year) term June 2017 - June 2020 *Board Exception Approved April 19, 2011* (*Bylaws Art V, Sec 4*)

Fortino Rivera: 3rd (3-year) term June 2017 - June 2020

Ed Arnold moved, Alberta Christy seconded, all in favor, the motion carried.

Christina Romero announced with gratitude and regret the resignation of board member Jamie Pirritano.

Public Comments

No members of the public were present.

Foundation President's Report

Christina Romero shared the successes for the 2016-2017 President's Circle membership year. She announced the fall event will be at the Santa Ana Country Club. Ken Purcell commented how these funds truly impact the students and the college. Christina shared the unrestricted support summary for students and programs across campus, she also shared the vetting process for these applications.

Ken Purcell asked that the board members continue their efforts on the Department Liaison Program, take advantage of the opportunity and meet the instructors and deans. Rossina Gallegos asked that a board tour be organized for some of the newer members, Christina will organize a tour for any interested board members. Ed Arnold asked for an update on the broadcasting funding request and Christina shared that those have been vetted thru cabinet and the executive committee, and have been approved.

College President's Report

Dr. Linda Rose introduced Michelle Parolise, Occupational Studies professor, who gave a presentation on the creation of our Baccalaureate degree program, the creation of curriculum and its equivalency to other BA standards and ultimately the benefits to our students. Dr. Lundquist shared the equity aspect to this BA program. Dr. Rose added that the goal is the graduate three cohorts by 2023.

Dr. Rose introduced the new Public Information Officer, Melissa Utsuki, who spoke about her background.

Special Guests/Acknowledgements

Christina Romero introduced and recognized Arline Radillo Greene and Ted Greene for their commitment to the Alberto Radillo Scholarship. She shared the background and impact of the scholarship since its inception in 2001. Also present were two scholarship recipients Yareiry Alba and Cassandra Saucedo, who shared their stories and how the scholarship impacted their lives.

Executive Director's Report

Christina Romero presented the Foundation's current fundraising priorities, including the Pave the Way Brick Campaign which will officially launch and has begun with a promotion to all 2017 graduates and asked for full board participation. In addition, we are developing the Next Century Scholarship Campaign, of which \$100,000 of the \$750,000 match fund have been utilized. Lastly, the President's Circle program will continue to be deeply important to the foundation office.

Committee Reports

Athletic Hall of Fame/Ed Arnold Golf Classic

Ken Purcell spoke about the progress of the golf tournament.

Alumni Hall of Fame

Ed Arnold announced the induction class for the 2017 Alumni Hall of Fame: Bette Aitken, Steven Craig, Jack DeWit, Nora Mendez and Dr. Denise Spooner.

Treasurer's Report

Ed Halverson reviewed the financial statements and operating budget ending March 31, 2017. He highlighted the investment performance to date as well the disbursements to students for the year.

Ed Halverson motioned for the approval of the treasurer's report as presented.

Ken Purcell moved, Ed Arnold seconded, all in favor, the motion carried.

Closed Session

Ken Purcell noted no pending items, so closed session was not necessary.

Future Meetings/Events

Ken highlighted all upcoming events and encouraged board members to attend.

Special Guests/Acknowledgements

Christina introduced student Paula Ruiz, a recipient of urgent action funding, who shared her story.

<u>Adjournment</u> The meeting adjourned at 8:54 a.m.